The Treasure Museum
The Museum of the Treasure conserves a wide stock of sacred vestments and liturgical objects and a rare musical code of the twelfth century.
The "Pace" could have a museum all to itself, given its rarity and the historical and artistic importance it had on the European scene. It is a unique work of medieval goldsmith.
According to some, it owes the name of "Pace" for this gospel book covering to the vertically embossed "Pax Vita" above the lower oval. According to others, it owes its name to the tradition of kissing the work as a sign of peace during the most important solemn celebrations.
The baptismal font
The basin is a monolith in the local green stone decorated with sculptures in half relief, representing the benediction of the water and the baptism itself.
The work was carried out in 1156 in order to serve the entire parish of San Lorenzo, which at that time comprised the San Giacomo Valley (or Spluga Valley), the Italian part of Bregaglia Valley and the lower Valley incorporating Mese and San Cassiano.
The church of San Lorenzo
The origins of the church date back to the 5th century. It is probable that towards the 9th century, with the organisation of parishes, a new church was established. It was already dedicated to San Lorenzo in 973; in 1042 it was called parish and in 1098 basilica. The first dean appeared in 1016.
Enlarged in 1107, a fire in 1537 destroyed the oak roof. It was rebuilt the following year, enlarged towards the choir in 1719, the vaults were rebuilt and the majestic granite columns were added.